2013

7 things life on two wheels has taught me

If you live in Tallahassee, you’ve probably seen me zipping about town on my little retro scooter.  On the eve of my two-year anniversary with my favorite accessory, I’d like to share a few lessons I’ve learned from life on two wheels.

scooter BW collage

1. Less is more.  Two wheels are better than four.  My compact ride can find parking ANYWHERE and the lack of substantial trunk space keeps me from going overboard on shopping sprees!  Let’s not ignore the measly $2 I spend each week on gas.

2. SPF (shield that pretty face).  Being subjected to the sun on long commutes to work and school, I’ve become more aware of the daily exposure my skin receives.  I now only use makeup with SPF (currently, CoverGirl Natureluxe Silk Foundation) and lip balm with sun protection (Nivea Kiss of Protection).  In the warmer months, I’ll even slather sunscreen on my shoulders before a drive (Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen).

3. Slow down, it’s not a race. Maxing out at 30-something mph, I quickly learned to let the bigger, faster guys pass me.  I simply can’t keep up and it’s okay—great, even.  My leisurely pace and a panoramic view of my surroundings let me take in more of my city’s scenery.  I smell the spring flowers blossoming, or the greasy goodness wafting from a nearby McDonald’s; hear the sound of kids playing at recess, or a lewd vagrant shouting at me.

4. Live with imperfections.  My first few scooter trips were extremely frustrating.  Spending time each morning styling my hair only for it to be whipped around by the wind was aggravating.  With time I learned to embrace my natural hair and own the windblown look.  It’s the imperfections—the hairs out of place—that have defined my personal style. 

5.  Always be prepared. Checking the weather means the difference between arriving to work drenched or dry.  It takes longer for me to travel somewhere and with no GPS on my handlebars I have to research my route ahead of time.  Preparedness is essential, and the mentality has spilled over in to other areas of my life.

6. If there’s a will there’s a way.  I’ve had to run some complicated errands on two wheels, but when things need to get done you’ve got to get creative.  These past two years haven’t stopped me from wearing my favorite heels (I mean, I’m practically just sitting 90% of the time).  I’ve even managed to creatively cram $70 worth of groceries, including a gallon of milk and a bottle of wine, on to my scooter.  I refuse to compromise just because my commute is a little less convenient.

7. Everyone’s watching. Usually when you least expect it. Or in my case, on my scooter, it’s blatantly obvious everyone is looking at you.  Without car doors to hide behind everyone around me sees what I’m wearing, how I’m driving and people even recognize my scooter in parking lots.  Everyone’s watching, so present your ultimate, most fabulous self to the world every day.

I adore my scooter.  It’s the perfect accessory and an extension of my personal style.  Do you prefer two wheels or four?  What lessons has riding a scooter, bicycle or a hog taught you?

3 thoughts on “7 things life on two wheels has taught me

Leave a Reply

