2013 / Hidden Gems / Travel

Lake Talquin State Forest

_MG_6384

I honestly can’t remember how or why I stumbled upon this camp site four years ago, but it has become one of my favorite spots in Tallahassee.  This secluded retreat along the lake is shaded by layers of tall trees and lies at the end of a long, winding dirt road.  Believe me, it is well worth the bumpy drive with its beautiful views of the lake, the patches of sun peeking through the dense trees, the deafening silence that comes with being miles away from the nearest road. My man friend and I revisit at least once a year ever since our first fateful camping trip, surviving a terrifying lightening storm.  On this particular visit we packed a picnic lunch, complete with some Abita Strawberry Lagers.  We were even greeted—and followed–by a pack of butterflies!  Afternoons spent here always involve some whimsical flair.

20796120_11171720796120_111686

20796120_11164320796120_112051

Keep up to date on all my favorite hidden gems with my Google Map!  I’m an adventurer at heart, so be sure to share your favorite places with me as well.

Leave a Reply

