2013 / Brand Reviews / Hair, Makeup and Beauty

NYC Applelicious Glossy Balm

NYC-Applelicious-Lip-GlossSMALL

I’m a sucker for lipstick.  Lip gloss, on the other hand, is something I gave up many years ago. (I sound like a former smoker…)  I can’t stand the waxy smell, the glitter, the way your hair manages to get caught in the sticky goop.

When received the NYC Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm from Influenster, I was hesitant to try it (see above). Aside from the artificial apple smell–reminiscent of lip glosses of my adolescence–this balm has come in handy plenty of times, relieving and moisturizing chapped lips.  It also adds a slight pink tint, which I’m not a huge fan of–I say go big or go home with lip color.

Although I’m not particularly fond of this product on its own, I eventually figured out a way to work it in to my routine: layering! It may be too hot to layer our clothes anymore, but nothing’s stopping us from layering our lips! Try creating a brand new shade by layering a tinted gloss, like the Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm, over a red, pink or coral lipstick.  Through trial and error, I found that my favorite color combos result from applying the darkest color first.  I’m currently loving the mixture of a light coat of maroon matte lipstick, followed by a heavier layer of medium pink cream lipstick, topped off with a few strokes of the Applelicious lip balm.

Are you a gloss gal or a lipstick lady like myself?  Wherever your loyalty lies, consider combining the two and experimenting to create a brand new lip color!

voxbox-blogimage-popup2

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

Leave a Reply

