2013 / Tutorials

3 ways to dress for fall (when it still feels like summer)

_MG_0711

As I write this post — still reveling in my pumpkin spiced latte from this afternoon, anticipating my pumpkin beer this evening — I realize I’m in deep. I find myself in a full-fledged fall state of mind. Unfortunately, living in Florida means that the weather hasn’t caught up to my autumnal mentality (and won’t for some time). It’ll be weeks before I see changing leaves or can incorporate my favorite fall purchases in to an ensemble, but I will not be discouraged! I always try to make the most of this annual awkward transition. Here are three tips to help you embrace the fall aesthetic while the heat still lingers:

_MG_0756

1. Keep shorts in your outfit rotation, showing off those sun kissed legs while you still can! (And honestly, it’s too hot to wear much else.)  Opt for darker, more structured pairs to sharpen up your look.

_MG_0736

2. Incorporate lightweight sweaters in to the mix. Avoid becoming a walking sauna in dark hues and long sleeves, give a playful 3/4 sleeve sweater a try!

_MG_0796

3. Bring your wardrobe up to speed with on-trend, seasonally appropriate accessories. Re-introduce fall classics to your outfits, like animal print shoes, which impart an undeniably fall quality to otherwise summery outfits.

_MG_0762

I challenge all of you who are forced to order your pumpkin lattes ‘iced’ to embrace the fall season with me. I’m calling on you, my Florida, California, Texas readers (and anyone still getting good use of their bathing suits) to share your fall transition outfits and tips with me!  Let’s take the season back, even if it does feel like July… Tweet me your photos and tips or share them on my Facebook page!

What I wore: Sweater: J.Crew Factory, shorts: Kate Young for Target (old, similar here & here), shoes: Christian Siriano for Payless (old, similar here & here), sunglasses: thrifted

13 thoughts on “3 ways to dress for fall (when it still feels like summer)

  1. What a cute post and helpful tutorial! I love that sweater, I remember it from last season…great to see there is a Factory version for grabs. Congrats on making it to Links a la Mode, fab post!

  2. Pingback: Links a la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | the girl with the bun

  3. Pingback: To wear or not to wear: white after Labor Day | the girl with the bun

Leave a Reply

