2013

NYFW inspiration: Altuzarra S/S 14

Was anyone else overwhelmed by NYFW? I revel in afternoons spent pouring over magazines and analyzing trends, but Fashion Week temporarily stifles my enthusiasm for fashion. The excessive coverage, the new designers to memorize, the heaps of trends to store away for six months?! Don’t even get me started on how the fashion circus makes my wardrobe feel instantly blasé. But somehow, through all the clutter, one particularly simple runway look caught my eye and stole my heart: Altuzarra‘s brilliant pairing of gorgeous metallic skirts and minimalistic henleys.

HENLEYS

I always strive for balance in my personal style, mixing casual and elegant, classic and kitschy, loose and fitted. In order to maintain such balance, I believe a wardrobe needs a healthy mix of statement pieces and basics. Basics dress down your most glamorous, “special occasion” pieces, helping you make the most of your closet.

My interpretation of Altuzarra’s look includes a burgundy sequin pencil skirt and my comfiest, slouchiest v-neck. I bring the entire look further down to earth with a baseball cap.

_MG_1530_MG_1521_MG_1536

Extravagant pieces, when paired with everyday basics, can look completely appropriate on a Wednesday afternoon. So what outrageous piece will you pair with your favorite go-to basics?

_MG_1553

What I wore: Baseball cap: ZaraMan (old, similar here), v-neck: Target, skirt: ASOS (old, similar here & here), heels: Zara (old, similar herehere & here), sunglasses: thrifted, bracelet: Forever 21 (old, similar herehere)

5 thoughts on “NYFW inspiration: Altuzarra S/S 14

  1. Really cute photos, I loved how you dressed down the sparkly skirt! I feel the same way about NYFW. If I see another article or post about clothing I can’t get/wear until Spring …Anyways, beautiful look, thanks for making it real and practical for everyday life!

  2. Pingback: Stylin’ up a sweat(shirt) | the girl with the bun

  3. Pingback: Stylin’ up a sweat(shirt) | the girl with the bun

Leave a Reply

