2013 / Tutorials

4 ways to wear jeans and heels

A while back, a reader suggested I write about wearing jeans and heels. Since my daily uniform generally consists of this combo, I figured a post weighing in on the trend was long overdue! I’m so excited to share four ways I pair the ultimate casual staple with heels.

_MG_1839_MG_1844_MG_1846

I always pair loose fitting boyfriend jeans with classic heels like pointed toe pumps. The key to avoiding a sloppy look is balancing the masculine denim with feminine heels. Classic, simple shoes are your best bet — avoid platforms and complicated embellishments. I recommend a clean, tall cuff with the fold grazing the backs of the heels.

_MG_2224_MG_2209_MG_2201

I try to keep things extremely simple with patterned denim, pulling one color (here, nude) from the print to coordinate with the heels. Don’t be afraid to let the lining show, I think it keeps things interesting and helps dress down the heels. A small cuff also creates a natural break between the pattern and heels, all while showing off your ankles!

_MG_1951_MG_1956_MG_1947

You have plenty of creative range with skinny jeans. This popular fit is much less complicated than other shapes, naturally lending itself to a wide range of heel styles — classic pumps, sling backs, ankle straps and booties. I love haphazardly cuffing my skinnies to add intrigue to the traditional fit (even if the hems are uneven) and to dress down structured heels.

_MG_2262 _MG_2257 _MG_2255

If all this cuffing is too overwhelming, try a pair of cropped denim. To reinforce the obvious retro feel of ankle-length trousers I gravitate toward 1950’s inspired heels like these cobalt sling-backs. This look is effortless — no DIY or folding required. Pair with a silk ‘pajama’ shirt or denim button-down for a no-hassle day-time look!

As with all of my advice and tips, I urge you to trust your instincts AND step outside of your comfort zone as you navigate this trend. Be sure to check out my Jeans + Heels Pinterest board for more inspiration and share photos of your jean & heel combos with me on Twitter and Facebook!

19 thoughts on “4 ways to wear jeans and heels

  1. Great tutorial. I type this as I look at my rolled skinny jeans 🙂 I’m glad you are showing options with a “cleaner” look around the ankles so that you can see the shoes! Remember flared and bootcut hems that just engulfed your entire foot and shoe?!

  2. Pingback: Links à la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | IFB

  3. These are cute pictures. 🙂 There’s an infographic on Pinterest that I saw months ago, showing how to cuff, with what shoe. You should check that out, although I think your tips are spot on.

    xo Ashley

  4. Pingback: IFB Links a la MODE October 17th | I Can Style U Blog

  5. Great tips and perfect photos! I especially love your idea about creating haphazard, uneven cuffs. I had never thought of this and am definitely going to try it!

    Sarah
    tracetheshadows.blogspot.com

  6. Pingback: A Little Self Promotion… | The Heart's Delight

  7. Pingback: Style Context Makes Latest IFB Weekly Roundup – Style Context

  8. Pingback: Links a la Mode: Fashionista Problems Solved | Two Take on Style

  9. Pingback: Featured on: IFB Links à la Mode | the girl with the bun

  10. Pingback: Links à la Mode – IFB Weekly Round up – I made it on the list!! | folklorique | Style Blogfolklorique | Style Blog

  11. Pingback: Links à la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | Lollie Shopping

  12. Pingback: Belle Belle on Links à la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup

  13. Pingback: Happy Day: My Second Time on Links a la Mode! | AlysaLovely

  14. Pingback: IFB Links à la Mode

  15. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 1 | the girl with the bun

  16. Pingback: The Top 10 Fashionista Problems (As Told Via GIFs) | The Neon Blonde

Leave a Reply

