2013 / Tutorials

How to style a chambray shirt: Part 1

I’ve always been more interested in stocking up on playful statement pieces like sequin clutches and feather skirts — avoiding investing in basics, preferring extravagance to simplicity. Though, this year I’ve begun to learn the true value of versatile basics. A closet full of animal print dresses and jacquard trousers won’t get you far unless some simpler pieces are sprinkled in.

With that said, I never thought I’d find myself gushing over a simple chambray button-down. I’m late to the denim shirt party, having just bought one last month, but I’ve styled it with just about everything in my wardrobe. It’s been essential to my favorite outfits this fall, so I feel compelled to share! My first way to style a chambray shirt involves the aforementioned feather skirt…

_MG_2980_MG_2947A denim shirt often reads Western, but when layered over a wispy feathered skirt the two come together to create a playful dress. The balance between casual and Carrie Bradshaw makes this getup perfect for day or night. This ensemble saw me through a delicious lunch date, a casual stroll around the museum as well as a night of drinks and 1970′s karaoke!_MG_2905_MG_2935_MG_2993_MG_2988While shops aren’t exactly overrun with ostrich-feather skirts, it’s the intention/idea that counts. Pair a denim shirt with any flamboyant skirt for the same effect — sequinfringemetallic, leather, etc.

What I wore: H&M chambray button-down, thrifted feather skirt (similar herehere & here), Christian Siriano for Payless heelsPhillip Lim for Target bagTarget sunglasses, Forever 21 necklace, Revlon Wine Not lipstick

6 thoughts on “How to style a chambray shirt: Part 1

  1. Ohhhh such a cute feather skirt! I just love playful things like that and yes with a basic shirt it makes it easy to wear such a fun piece of clothing on a more regular basis.

  2. Pingback: Stylin’ up a sweat(shirt) | the girl with the bun

  3. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 2 | the girl with the bun

  4. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 3 (and a glimpse at my Buffalo visit!) | the girl with the bun

  5. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 3 | the girl with the bun

  6. Pingback: Stylin’ up a sweat(shirt) | the girl with the bun

Leave a Reply

