2013 / Tutorials

How to style a chambray shirt: Part 2

I’m giddy with excitement over here… As mentioned last week, I’ve got a serious crush on my new chambray shirt. (How have I never owned one until now?!) While I’ve mostly seen them styled casually with skinnies, I’m having a blast dressing mine up in new ways — last week with a wispy, feathery skirt and today with a preppy blazer for an old school collegiate look.

I’ve been really inspired by menswear lately, loving the pairing of classic masculine details with undeniably feminine touches — buttoned up collars and structured outwear, hair bows and cocktail rings. For an immediate menswear feel, without having to buy a single piece of menswear, simply button a chambray shirt all the way up! Top it all off with fall’s signature pattern for a look that screams Ivy League._MG_3169_MG_3202_MG_3213_MG_3190If plaid is too wasp-y for you, nix the pattern and simply wear your chambray shirt with comfy blue jeans. I absolutely love the look of denim on denim. Whether you mismatch washes or keep things uniform, the look makes a bold, daring statement with little effort!_MG_3205

What I wore: Target blazer (sold out, same fit herehere. Similar here), H&M chambray shirt, boyfriend jeans (similar here), leather bow (similar here), vintage Dooney & Bourke bag, rings (similar here & here)

9 thoughts on “How to style a chambray shirt: Part 2

  1. Hm… Looks like I’ll need to do more chambray shopping. My favorite chambray shirt actually doesn’t button all the way up…I’m not sure what you’d call it, but it’s made to look more “feminine.” I have two other chambray shirts that button all the way up, but one has polka dots and the other has an allover floral print. Love this look though with the plaid blazer!

    • Thanks Casey! I bet the polka dot and floral shirts would look fabulous buttoned up with a blazer! I love putting all the buttons on a shirt to use, it gives the top a whole new look and feel.

  2. Pingback: Weekly wish-list // 3 | the girl with the bun

  3. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 3 (and a glimpse at my Buffalo visit!) | the girl with the bun

  4. Pingback: How to style a chambray shirt: Part 3 | the girl with the bun

Leave a Reply

