2013 / Travel

Mile high style – my formula for a no-fuss travel look

Happy hump-day! As you may have noticed on Instagram, I’m in Buffalo, NY! The boyfriend has a gig in a city just outside of my home town, so we decided to make a fall getaway out of it. The temperatures have been averaging in the 40’s — and though I’m freezing my buns off, I’m thrilled to put my winter coats and layering savvy to use.

Since holiday travel season quickly approaching, I figured I’d document my trip and share my tips with you in this travel series of sorts! Stay tuned for my sightseeing ensembles, how to pack the perfect carry on, my cold weather essentials and all my adventures in real time on FB & Instagram #TGWTBinBuffalo.

With all the stress travel induces, the last thing you need is a high-maintenance outfit. My no-fuss, go-to look involves reliably comfy skinnies, a breathable sweater and a knit scarf (great for adding warmth without taking up much room). Throw a structured carry-all on your arm and swipe on a rich lip color and you’ll definitely turn some TSA heads ;DNo-fuss-travel-look-2_MG_4740Being the air-travel minimalist that I am, I prefer not to follow the “wear your heaviest pieces on the plane” rule. Instead, I sport my most structured pieces, like hats and bags, to preserve their shapes (rather than squash them in my suitcase). A classic felt hat pulls a simple look together — and disguises 7 a.m. bed-head…_MG_4765_MG_4749I always make sure my travel outfit allows me to easily transition from jetway to jaunting about town. This simple, monochrome look, punched up by a pop of rich lip color, was the perfect comfy ensemble for our brief stop in Rochester (for some incredible BBQ) before our commute to Buffalo._MG_4723_MG_4781

Follow all of my Buffalo adventures on Facebook, Instagram & Twitter, following the hashtag #TGWTBinBuffalo!

What I wore: H&M hat (similar here & here), H&M sweater, H&M black skinnies (similar here), H&M black scarf (yeah, I love H&M, similar here), Vera Wang for Kohl’s boots (last season, this season’s here), Phillip Lim for Target purse (sold out, similar herehere)

3 thoughts on “Mile high style – my formula for a no-fuss travel look

  1. You look so cute in your hat! I agree with all the travel tips you have. I normally travel for work so it’s the “wear the same shoes” philosophy. If you get pre-TSA check then it’s even better, that is the best invention ever!

Leave a Reply

